Prevent deleting passwords

This policy setting prevents users from deleting passwords. This feature is available in the Delete Browsing History dialog box.

If you enable this policy setting, passwords are preserved when the user clicks Delete.

If you disable this policy setting, passwords are deleted when the user clicks Delete.

If you do not configure this policy setting, the user can choose whether to delete or preserve passwords when he or she clicks Delete.

If the "Prevent access to Delete Browsing History" policy setting is enabled, this policy setting is enabled by default.

Supported on: At least Internet Explorer 7.0
Registry HiveHKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE or HKEY_CURRENT_USER
Registry PathSoftware\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel
Value NameDisableDeletePasswords
Value TypeREG_DWORD
Enabled Value1
Disabled Value0

inetres.admx

Administrative Templates (Computers)

Administrative Templates (Users)