Turn off Versions and Notebook Recycle Bin in shared notebooks

This policy setting allows you to turn off version history which includes versions and the notebook recycle bin. With a 2016 format notebook, OneNote will automatically store previous versions of the pages in the notebook, and it will also store a recycle bin for all of the deleted pages and sections.

If you enable this policy setting, it will turn off version history.

If you disable or do not configure this policy setting, OneNote will store previous versions by default.

Supported on: At least Windows 7
Registry Pathsoftware\policies\microsoft\office\16.0\onenote\options\versions
Value Nameenablehistory
Enabled Value0
Disabled Value1


Administrative Templates (Computers)

Administrative Templates (Users)