Prevent deleting cookies

This policy setting prevents the user from deleting cookies. This feature is available in the Delete Browsing History dialog box.

If you enable this policy setting, cookies are preserved when the user clicks Delete.

If you disable this policy setting, cookies are deleted when the user clicks Delete.

If you do not configure this policy setting, the user can choose whether to delete or preserve cookies when he or she clicks Delete.

If the "Prevent access to Delete Browsing History" policy setting is enabled, this policy setting is enabled by default.

Supported on: At least Internet Explorer 8.0
Registry HiveHKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE or HKEY_CURRENT_USER
Registry PathSoftware\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Privacy
Value NameCleanCookies
Value TypeREG_DWORD
Enabled Value0
Disabled Value1

inetres.admx

Administrative Templates (Computers)

Administrative Templates (Users)