Prevent restoring previous versions from backups

This policy setting lets you suppress the Restore button in the previous versions property page when the user has selected a previous version of a local file, in which the previous version is stored on a backup.

If you enable this policy setting, the Restore button is disabled when the user selects a previous version corresponding to a backup.

If you disable this policy setting, the Restore button remains active for a previous version corresponding to a backup. If the Restore button is clicked, Windows attempts to restore the file from the backup media.

If you do not configure this policy setting, it is disabled by default. The Restore button is active when the previous version is of a local file and stored on the backup.

Supported on: Supported Windows Vista through Windows 7
Registry HiveHKEY_CURRENT_USER
Registry PathSoftware\Policies\Microsoft\PreviousVersions
Value NameDisableBackupRestore
Value TypeREG_DWORD
Enabled Value1
Disabled Value0

previousversions.admx

Administrative Templates (Computers)

Administrative Templates (Users)