Prohibit closing items

Prevents users from removing Web content from their Active Desktop.

In Active Desktop, you can add items to the desktop but close them so they are not displayed.

If you enable this setting, items added to the desktop cannot be closed; they always appear on the desktop. This setting removes the check boxes from items on the Web tab in Display in Control Panel.

Note: This setting does not prevent users from deleting items from their Active Desktop.

Supported on: Windows Server 2003, Windows XP, and Windows 2000 only
Registry PathSoftware\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\ActiveDesktop
Value NameNoClosingComponents
Enabled Value1
Disabled Value0


Administrative Templates (Computers)

Administrative Templates (Users)